THS Homework
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Baker University

Go down

Baker University Empty Baker University

Post  jjackson Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:22 pm

This homework forum is something new our high school has just started. I think it will be useful for my students to see what they are missing in class if they are absent. It is also good to give me a framework for other teachers to see what my classes are currently working on. Parents can also stay updated on the work of their child.

jjackson

Back to top Go down

Baker University Empty RSS Feed - Blog Response

Post  jjackson Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:21 pm

What Are You Doing In That Computer Lab?
http://www.techlearning.com/showArticle.php?articleID=196604984&page=1

This article was taken from the Google Reader feed from TechLEARNing.com. The article gives tips to teachers when taking their students to the computer lab. Being a computer teacher I can feel for the classroom teacher trying to figure out the computer issues when taking the students to the lab.

Three main tips were given throughout the article.

1) The computer should be used for reinforcement not for teaching a concept.
This concept is important for teachers thinking of a computer as a babysitter.

2) The lab allows student leaders to step forward.
I use this concept in my classroom. The students that are tech savvy get reassigned as "helpers" when they get done. I use this quite often to help my slower students learn the concept with a helping hand.

3) Spend less time blocking content and more time teaching why to avoid inappropriate content.
This is an interesting concept that I agree with, but is hard to implement. Our school blocks most offensive content and for the school environment I think that is appropriate.

jjackson

Back to top Go down

Baker University Empty Shift Happens -Blog Response

Post  jjackson Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:20 pm